The XVI edition of the Din l-Art Ħelwa Awards for Architectural Heritage came to its fitting conclusion with the presentation ceremony held at Our Lady of Victory Church, Valletta. The Awards are held each year and highlight excellence in the field of restoration and regeneration of built heritage.  Din l-Art Ħelwa Executive President Prof. Alex Torpiano welcomed the prize-winners in the presence of the Hon. Stefan Zrinzo Azzopardi, Minister for Public Works and Planning who gave out the awards. Maria Grazia Cassar, the Chair of the Jury, thanked the Kamra Tal-Periti for their support, and for nominating Prof. Conrad Thake to represent them on the jury. The other judges were Prof. Antonio Mollicone from the University of Malta and Din l-Art Ħelwa Council Member Perit Joanna Spiteri Staines, whose valuable contribution enabled this initiative. Ms Cassar gave a brief presentation outlining the winning projects and the citations for their award. She said this year had seen community involvement and also a focus on the recuperation of Malta’s industrial heritage.   The winner projects were:

Prix d’Honneur in Category A – A Major Regeneration Project; Il-Biccerija Valletta Design Cluster by the Restoration Directorate.

Diploma in Category A – The Restoration Work Scheme for Local Communities also by the Restoration Directorate.

Prix d’Honneur in Category B – The Rehabilitation and Reuse of Buildings; Teatru Manoel Façade Restoration by AP Valletta

Diploma in Category B – The Old Brewery Farsons Street, Hamrun by Edwin Mintoff Architects

Prix d’Honneur in Category C – A Restoration and Conservation Project; The Historic Reinforced Concrete Water Tower Conservation Project; Prof. Ruben Paul Borg and Prof. Edward Gatt, University of Malta.

The Judge Caruana Curran Prize, signifying the best in all categories was also awarded to The Historic Reinforced Concrete Water Tower Conservation Project, which saved this important industrial heritage monument from demolition, brought back its original appearance and structural integrity, giving it new life within its original context. `

The Minister brought the ceremony to a close by congratulating all those who submitted their projects in this competition. “It is very encouraging to see such talent and effort put into quality architecural projects to conserve the beauty of Malta’s visual environment. I look forward to more future editions of these awards.”

Winners of the Din l-Art Helwa Architectural Heritage Awards with the Minister for Public Works and Planning, Stefan Zrinzo Azzopardi, Profs Alex Torpiano, Executive President of Din l-Art Helwa and Maria Grazia Cassar, Chair of the Awards Jury Panel.