Professor Alex Torpiano

Professor Alex Torpiano has been appointed the new Executive President of Din l-Art Helwa.  Following the organisation’s recent Annual General Meeting, members elected the new Council and the officials who are to lead the voluntary heritage and environment NGO into 2021.  Simone Mizzi has been appointed Secretary General, and Martin Scicluna, former head of Wealth Management at HSBC, has been reappointed as Treasurer.   The new council members are Joseph Attard, Professor Anthony Bonanno, George Camilleri, Maria Grazia Cassar, Cettina Caruana Curran, Dr Petra Caruana Dingli, Elizabeth Cremona, Josie Ellul Mercer, Cathy Farrugia, Joseph Philip Farrugia, Dr Stanley Farrugia Randon, Martin Galea, Ann Gingell Littlejohn, Kenneth B Micallef, Professor Luciano Mule’ Stagno,   Perit Joanna Spiteri Staines.

Professor Alex Torpiano, former president of the Kamra tal-Periti till last year and Dean of the Faculty for the Built Environment at the University of Malta is the 8th Executive President of Din l-Art Helwa since it was founded by Judge Maurice Caruana Curran in 1965 to protect Malta’s rich cultural heritage and the natural environment.  At its recent General Meeting members voiced their concerns unanimously about the rampant development and unbridled construction which were taking their toll negatively on our natural environment, creating unpleasing visual amenities and having a negative effect on the quality of life.

‘It is an honour to take up the reins at Din l-Art Helwa,’ stated Professor Torpiano, especially at a time when the country faces so many challenges in the protection of its heritage and in particular, the natural environment.  I hope to continue to drive Din l-Art Helwa’s mission forward and to bring new energy and innovation to an organization which has already achieved so much’.